Every few years, I get an itch to do a little gardening. Even though I come from a long line of farmers, I don’t have much of a green thumb. I’ve rarely grown anything that actually sprouted, much less something that I could eat.

This year, I’ve decided to keep things simple. I’m just going to plant a few flowers, a few herbs, and a gourd plant. I have a couple of planters and some soil that I bought several years ago for my last attempt at gardening. I plan on putting petunias in them. I’ve staked out a few places in the flowerbeds where I’m going to plant some fragrant herbs. I’m considering rosemary and sage. Back when I bought the planters and soil a few years ago, I also bought some gourd seeds. I’m going to plant those as well.

My last experiment with gourds went well. Them seem to be easy to grow, so that’s perfect with me. I have absolutely no use for gourds and really don’t know why I plan on growing them. However, I’m going to give it a shot.

How long will this last? I’m not sure. However, I’m starting small so I won’t have too many irons in the fire that it actually becomes a chore. I’m going to stay small so that I won’t be disappointed with so many dead plants that I have to get rid of. Wish me luck!

