For quite a few years, perhaps 10, I haven’t watched any considerable amount of TV. In fact, during this time, I rarely watched any. I’ve kept up with a few shows online, but other than that, I’ve kept the TV off. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not one of those people who self-righteously profess that he or she won’t be corrupted by the TV. I’m not also not the type who believes he or she has intelligence beyond watching hours of mindless television shows. I simply got out of the habit of watching it.

I get most of my news through the NPR app. I also listen to the Rachel Maddow Show’s podcast that is released the morning following the show. For the rest of my news intake, I get it the old fashioned way – I read it.

I used to watch a lot of TV. During high school and college, whenever I was at home, the TV was on. Regardless of what I was doing, it was on, if only for background noise. I never watched movies. I was mostly a sitcom watcher. The Golden Girls were and still are my favorite. After all, for fellows like me, it’s required viewing. However, the days are past when they played on a loop at all hours of the day.

A few months ago, we caught wind of DirectTV Now. We don’t have cable, but have an Apple TV. So, we thought we’d give it a try. After all, there was a free three-month trial. I didn’t use it for a month or so. However, then I realized that Logo frequently played the Golden Girls. Then I realized that I Dream of Jeannie was on when I woke up. Then, I started turning on the news when I got home. It was quickly snowballing.

Today when I got home from work, I sat down on the couch and wondered if My 600 Pound Life was on TLC. That startled me. Didn’t I have anything better to do than watch TLC on a Friday afternoon? I decided to compromise. I turned on the TV but watched CSPAN-2 until I dozed off.

What’s the point of this? None, really. It just surprised me that after such a hiatus from television that my watching habits returned so quickly. If I don’t watch out, I’ll be back to a nonstop TV junkie. I hope that doesn’t happen, but time will tell.

