I’m almost frightened to say that things at home are back to normal. I got ahead of myself last week and declared the home renovations over. However, I feel comfortable in saying now that the renovations are complete with the exception of a few light fixtures that still have to be installed by an electrician.

This morning was nice. I tried to get back in my routine. I woke up early and had coffee at my desk in the study. It’s been quite a while since I’ve been able to do that. It’s funny that with all of the renovations complete, I find greater joy in the simple things that I always had. A quiet cup of coffee with the dogs while reading the news is really all I can ask for and I’m grateful that it makes me happy.

It’s hard to believe that we’re well into February. In looking at my calendar, I can tell that things are about to start getting busy. Lent starts in just a few weeks. I’m grateful that I’m not working out of town as I have been for the last few years. I’ll be able to attend the weekly Lenten suppers without having to race home after work and get to the meal late. That in itself is a blessing.

As I got home for lunch and took the dogs out, I noticed my piano in the corner collecting dust. I haven’t played much since lessons in college. It’s really something I miss and need to pursue again. Whenever I play, Emelius always listens intently while Barton leaves the room. I’m not sure which one has the best taste. I believe that Barton has the honest reaction while Emelius just listens to make me feel better. But yes, I think I’ll try to pick back up and play more often.

That’s all I have for today – just a few reflections of the new year so far. It’s going by so quickly. In just an instant, it will be summer. I’m just going to try to enjoy each day as it occurs and savor the small joys that life brings. I invite you to join me.

