The time to act is now. Progressives have little chance in fighting the dreadful Trump agenda if they don’t get mobilized now. Fortunately, things seem to be taking shape at a grassroots level now. The Women’s March on Washington was an amazing success and protests against Trump’s Muslim ban are occurring all over the country. There is an LGBT march planned in a few months and other marches are likely to occur between then. Progressives need to use this chance to impede the progress of their political opponents just as the Tea Party did. We can do it – and have proper spelling on our signs.

What’s the best way to make a difference? The first thing progressives have to do is to come out. There aren’t a lot of liberals in my area of South Georgia. However, I know that there are a lot of progressives here and we can make an impact. Grassroots level groups are beginning to form. If you’re looking for one in your area, I’d recommend starting with looking for a local chapter of Indivisible. They have a group locator on their website with information about group meetings and other information about how to get involved.

The Indivisible movement is based on the Indivisible Guide, which is available for download on the website. It was written by former congressional staffers and lets constituents know the best way to get in touch with and make an impact on their elected representatives. I’m one of many who have very rarely taken political activism to the level of contacting a representative. However, as of today I’m making a vow to make some sort of contact every day. Whether it be calling, e-mailing, or writing a letter, I will contact my representation in some form every day. It seems like a small thing, but if more and more people make their voices known, it will have an impact.

It’s also vitally important to know what your representatives’ views are on issues that affect you and how they vote on key legislation. For this, I recommend using the Countable app. It’s available from wherever you get apps for your smart phone. If you don’t have a smartphone, each representative should have a website.

Last night, I was at an event where my representative, Buddy Carter, briefly spoke. I knew that I didn’t ideologically agree with him. However, while he was speaking, I pulled up the Countable app. From this I realized that he had no information on LGBT issues on his website. I plan on asking him about why he is silent on these matters. There are a lot of LGBT people in his district and he is clearly ignoring us all.

If you have never been politically active before, the time is now. If you don’t have a plan of action, get one. If you’re not making calls, sending letters, and sending e-mails, start doing it. We can’t afford to remain silent.

