It’s time for an introversion excursion and this weekend turned out to be the perfect time. With Ken being away for the weekend and the construction moving upstairs, I decided to abandon the house to the contractors and spend a weekend with myself. What do I plan on doing? Officially, I have no plans. I have a few things I’d like to do, but I’ll just play it by ear.

This morning I drove down to Jacksonville and was able to check into the hotel around 8:30 am. Other than a quick trip to Fresh Market, that’s as far as I’ve gotten. For the next few hours, I’m going to hang around the hotel. I’d like to finish a book I’m reading called Re-Claiming the Bible for a Non-Biblical World by Bishop John Shelby Spong. It’s a pretty good read. I’ve read several of his books and they always offer a new perspective on how to interpret scriptures while taking into account the time in which they were written and how this should impact modern society. It’s evident that he’s a freethinking Episcopalian, which is also a badge I wear with honor. I also have another writing project that has been rumbling around in my mind for a while now. I hope to put pen to paper (or finger to keyboard) and get some of it started. Maybe I’ll do it and maybe I won’t. This weekend, it just doesn’t matter.

I’ve got a little light shopping I’d like to do as well. I need some new cake pans. I’ve got to bake a couple of them next week and hopefully I can find the ones I’m looking for at a decent price. Other than that the rest of the day and most of tomorrow is a blank slate.   Ken will be in town later tomorrow and we’re seeing The Book of Mormon. That should be a hoot.

So, for now, I think I’ll lie in bed and NOT watch the news. This weekend needs to be about relaxation and rejuvenation and seeing the country inch towards the edge of oblivion wouldn’t help with that. So, enjoy your weekends! I’ll certainly try to enjoy mine.

