I’m a news junkie. It’s how I start and end every day. I must confess, however, that I did take a bit of a hiatus after the election. I just couldn’t take it. But now I’m back in the full swing of consuming news nonstop. My preferred outlet is NPR. There’s something about the calm, collected presentation, impeccable reputation, and variety of topics that keeps me coming back. That’s not to say that I don’t get news from other places. Every morning, the first thing I do is download the podcast of the previous night’s episode of Rachel Maddow. After all, I am a bleeding-heart liberal and we have to tune in to maintain our membership in the club. But for the most part, I’m a die-hard NPR listener.

Waycross is fortunate to have a local NPR station. I must confess that I rarely listen to it. I usually tune into WAMU from Washington DC on the NPR app. From Morning Edition to the BBC News Hour, my day always gets going with dependable news. I was a long time listener of the Diane Rehm Show until her retirement last month. It bade a bittersweet goodbye, but have found that her replacement, 1A with Joshua Jackson is proving to be a very good show. I’m also a huge fan of All Things Considered. My favorite host is Ari Shapiro (yes for the obvious reasons).

What makes NPR so appealing? I can only speak for myself. In my view, NPR doesn’t try to sell the news. It seems as though the major news networks are stuck in an endless cycle of trying to either make news where there is none or gloss over stories that deserve a closer look. What’s even worse is that they spin the stories in such a way as to tell their listener or viewer what to believe. That’s what NPR doesn’t do. They don’t tell their listeners how to interpret the news. They just give the facts. They have a unique ability to present all sides of an issue, have guests from all ideologies, and, in a calm, respectful manner, maintain a constructive dialogue about the issues that affect all of us. That’s what keeps me coming back.

If you get your news from your Facebook newsfeed, you may be beyond hope. Keep scrolling down and reading sensational headlines from professional trolls. Keep thinking that Obama is about to take the guns and implement Sharia law. Oh, and please, please share these stories. We all need to know about Hillary Clinton’s child sex ring that she operates from the basement of a DC restaurant and Obama’s secret signet ring with the “radical Islam” writing. However, if you regularly tune into CNN, MSNBC, or (especially) FOX, give NPR a try. You may be pleasantly surprised.

